Remembering

Standard

April 19, 1995

Perhaps you have days in your life when time seemed to stand still.  This was one for me.  I was a senior in college, majoring in music education.  And on this very ordinary sunshiny day, I left my apartment early for my student teaching assignment at Fisher Elementary school in Moore, Oklahoma.   Classes started around 8:30 and my supervising teacher, Marilyn Copeland, left me to teach classes on my own.  I was nearing the end of my 8 weeks of elementary teaching and the students no longer scared me.  🙂

The morning passed quickly and nothing out of the ordinary happening until a few minutes after 10 am when Marilyn’s husband came in looking for her.  This seemed a little out of place.  He worked downtown, what was he doing here?  I did not know where she was, I told him, and went on with the lessons.  It was not until lunch time that I learned about the bombing in Oklahoma City that day.  I was riveted to the TV during my short 30 minute break trying to wrap my mind around what had happened.

We can never believe it when tragedy strikes.  We could never have imagined what would happen that day or the pain that it brought on so many people.  But in the midst of tragedies, we find our greatest strength.  Strength that God put deep within us so that we could bear the sufferings we will find in this world.

Today, I am remembering the people who showed amazing courage and strength in the face of suffering, loss and pain.  I am remembering the lives that were lost at 9:02 am on April 19, 1995. And I am remembering that God still redeems the worst of tragedies and brings goodness and hope with each new day.

19 I remember my affliction and my wandering,
the bitterness and the gall.

20 I well remember them,
and my soul is downcast within me.

21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.

23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

~Lamentations 3:19-23

2 responses »

  1. Thanks, Jenny for that. And you are right – God is in the business of redemption. Redemption doesn’t put things back exactly the way they were – it can’t do that, certainly with the multiple deaths. But resurrection and redemption come out of what is no longer. It is simply different.

    Thank you for sharing your memories. I had not heard that.

Leave a Reply

