When I was a little girl…

Standard

Today I had coffee with a young woman I met a few months ago at the Worship Conference.  She was wanting to know if I could give her voice lessons (I am getting more and more requests).  As we were talking and getting to know one another, I asked her how she came to know Jesus.

“When I was a little girl,” she said, “I recevied a box from Samaritan’s Purse.  Inside was the story of Jesus.  I told my mom, look!  There is a God and he died for us and three days later he rose up from the dead!”

She began to pray the prayer of salvation that was written at the end of the pamphlet.

Everyday.

Her story doesn’t end there.  She struggled to find God in the Orthodox Church, which was the heritage of her family.  She went through rituals and said prayers and even asked to be baptized by the priest.  She made the request many times.   Her parents were opposed to her attending a protestant church in her town.  Her father had a government job during communist times and burned down many churches during the years that Albania declared “There is no God.”  After moving away from her home town, she found a church and began growing in her relationship with Christ.  Today, she is the worship leader at her church here in Tirana and her husband works with the youth.

Friends, never underestimate what a difference

your gift makes for the Kingdom of God.

Someone on the other side of the planet packed a shoebox full of goodies for children.  They sent the box to Samaritan’s Purse where a booklet about Jesus was added.  It was lovingly wrapped and shipped across the world and made its way into the hands of a little girl who had never heard the name of Jesus becuase, at the time she was born in this country, claiming faith of any kind was prohibited by law.

shoeboxes

I packed one of these shoe boxes once.  Our church collected boxes for Operation Christmas Child.  I went to the store and bought toothpaste, socks, soap, crayons, coloring books, and little toys.  I filled it up and dropped it off.  I have not thought about it since.  NOT ONCE.

Until today.

So is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.     ~Issiah 55:11

God is still busy doing His thing.

Changing lives.


3 responses »

  1. That is AWESOME to read! And until I read this post I simply thought we were providing Christmas to children, it never occurred to me that an Operation Shoebox may actually provide salvation!

  2. Jenny,

    What an amazing story! Thanks for sharing! We’ve done it a few times, but it’s easy to forget the WHY of doing it in the busy-ness of the season. You actually talked to someone whose life was changed by one of those little boxes! Cool!

Leave a Reply

