Have you done any fireproofing lately?

Standard

I am really excited about the opening of this movie today.  Have you heard about it?  From the creators of Face the Giants, Fireproof: Never leaver your partner behind, is about what God can do in our marriages if we submit ourselves to Him and ask Him to teach us how to love our spouses.  Since I started reading Cindy’s blog and hearing her story, I have been more aware of needing to watch the health of my marriage and doing more to “fire proof” it.

I was really hit by this today since I watched the trailer it after I sent my hubby off for two days to a church leadership conference in Durres.  I confess I was not super nice to him before he left.  He was interrupting my day, ya know?  I had things to do and I just was not very helpful.  I was tired and worn out from the week and all the catch up we are still trying to do after being sick.

Then I was listening to the words of this song from the movie:

Love is not a place, To come and go as we please
It’s a house we enter in, Then commit to never leave
So lock the door behind you, Throw away the key
Work it out together, Let it bring us to our knees

Love is a shelter, in a raging storm
Love is peace, in the middle of a war
And if we try to leave; May God send angels to guard the door
No, Love is not a fight, but its something worth fighting for

My smallest actions impact my husband.  And I have to fight against my own selfishness to help meet his needs as a part of my commitment to love Him the way God wants me to, not just with my own interests in mind.  The boy’s scripture memory verse for this week is “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit but in humility consider others better than yourselves.”  Phil 2:3.  Hello.

Then you know what happened?  Yup… he called.  He was praying for me and just wanted to make sure I was okay.

Sigh.

I am blessed.

3 responses »

  1. thanks for this post….it fit me today…woke up a little cranky and you know who got hit with it. Now you know I have to apologize. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

