Snuggle, Snuggle, Toot, Toot!

Standard

Never a dull moment around here.  Yesterday was a day of catch up.  After all that yucky sickness over the weekend, most of it spent in bed, I could not sleep through the night Sunday night.  I woke up a little after 4am Monday morning, not exactly bright and shiny but certainly with the fog lifted and not a yawn in sight.  So, rise and shine!  I had dishes to catch up on, laundry to fold, lunches to make, etc…. By 11:30 I was beat and so was Jadyn.  We ate a little lunch and took ourselves upstairs for a nap.

Phone rings… her nap continues but mine was interrupted by the things of life….

I finally was able to make it up to my bed and wouldn’t ya know that Jadyn woke up just 5 minutes after I laid my head down on the pillow.  Sigh. I went to get her and she laid in bed with me in that post nap, sleepy phase.  She closed her eyes, teasing me with the notion that she might fall back asleep.  I couldn’t even close my eyes.  She was a vision!  Have you ever had those moments when you are so tired but then sleep doesn’t come?  As Jadyn was snuggled in my arms, I just looked at her sweet face and counted her little eyelashes.  She would occasionally open her eyes and look at me.   She smelled like baby lotion and I just breathed the scent of her and finally close my eyes.  The sound of her breathing and her finger scratching on her little security blanket, lulled me to sleep.

And then, “toot, toot!”  She gasped and sat straight up, surprised at her own body sounds!  I smiled. She giggled and said, “Yuck, mommy!”

Indeed.  We disolved into a sea of giggles and tickles.

2 responses »

  1. Ahh, the sweet minutes directly following nap time! I wouldn’t trade those fleeting moments for anything.

    And Kylie giggles with her body sounds and says, “I tooted!”

Leave a Reply

