Heart breaking…

Standard

I have been on a bit of a blogging hiatus… after my birthday and all the WONDERFUL notes you sent me, I had to catch my breath! Thank you for your wonderful words of encouragement and love. You soothe my soul and your friendship means more to me that I can tell you….

I hardly have known what to write after the two terrible tragedies that have happened in Myanmar and China in the last weeks. It is so hard to get one’s mind to wrap around a tragedy this big. We know some people living in a city about 80 km from the epicenter of the China earthquake and it has made it more personal for us. We have known better how to pray for the people of China and some of the specific needs that God has been able to meet through them.

But today, my heart was broken even more when I learned of the tragedy in Steven Curtis Chapman’s family. Wednesday evening his youngest daughter (adopted from China) was killed when she was hit by a car driven by her brother.

For many reasons, this tragedy hits close to my heart. In my worst nightmare, I can relate to this kind of heartbreaking tragedy. I can wrap my mind around it, I see it in my minds eye. I cried buckets of tears when I read the news. And secondly, I wept for the help this wonderful family has done for our family through Shaohannah’s Hope, an adoption organization from whom we received a grant to help pay for Jadyn’s adoption.

So I hugged my daughter and my boys a little tighter tonight. I wept for Steven and Mary Beth Chapman and their family, I wept for the mothers and fathers who have lost children in China and Myranmar, I wept for the children who are left orphaned by these tragedies, and for all those who have lost loved ones. Their grief is incomparable.

May our great God, whose mysteries I can not begin understand, give them comfort and peace.

One response »

Leave a Reply

