Brutally honest

Standard

Today I am directing you to my friend Bex’s (short for Rebecca) post. Bex is a single 23 year old young woman living in North Africa. We met two years ago at the training school for our mission organization. Her post today is totally honest about the difficulties she is facing as a Jesus lover in a land where loving Him comes with great cost. You need to read her experience in her own words.

quotation-marks.jpg” The other day I was walking down the road in a long skirt and long sleeve shirt with a head scarf and it was about 115 degrees and dusty and some guys were busy yelling about me being a foreigner and I caught myself telling God – “you know, I’ve been here seven months and I don’t really love North Africa that much yet, I could still leave and never look back and never cry much.” And I heard God ask me – “but do you love me?” And I’m not in North Africa because I love it so much, but I’m still here because I love God…and that’s reason enough.” Read the rest of her post here.

Robert and I were talking today about needing to “demystify” what it means to be a missionary. Before we moved to the field we had a lofty idea of what it means to be a missionary. That you have to have it all together to be used by God. Every day we are seeing that it is really so much simpler than that. It is willingness to be like Bex, to be molded and used by God, even in a place that is hard. I have a lot more to say about that … I will save it for another day!
Please pray for our friend Bex today!

Leave a Reply

