Could you believe?

Standard

It is the morning before we know the glory of our Savior alive, again!   I was thinking this morning of all the Easters in the past and what makes this one different.  What makes tomorrow unique for us as believers?  It is that it happens again.  Christ comes again.  Over and over, He rises from the grave after taking on all of my sins and dying on the cross.

For so many people tomorrow is just an ordinary morning.  Here even more so, only a small percentage of Albanians will be celebrating His resurrection.   His name is hardly known here.  And I wonder what will make the difference for them.  What will be the window that opens their eyes to His glory that comes in the morning?

Several years ago (I am dating myself here), I sang this Twila Paris song in church.   I always wanted to sing it again in front of people who really matter to me (family, close friends) who are not believers or ride the fence, so to speak.  I wanted somehow to shed this outer part of myself that gets in the way of His glory.  Could they believe if I really was like Him?  If I lived all the words that I said?  Do you feel that way?  Do you want for those close to you to see Him through your eyes?  I do.  I pray every day that I can take off this shell that I live in and just be transparent so they could see what I see!  Could they believe if I held my opinion and quietly led?  Lord, let is be so, especially today!

tomb-large.jpg

Could you believe?

He was a friend to sinners
He was a gentle man
Beautiful, humble master plan
His voice could pierce the darkness
Quiet an angry sea
I hear Him saying follow me
I look in your eyes and I tell you these things
But somehow I know that it’s hard to believe

Could you believe if I really was like Him
If I lived all the words that I said
If for a change I would kneel down before you
And serve you instead
Could you believe

He was the Lamb of mercy
Undying hope of men
Waiting for love to come again
He is the light of heaven
Radiant Prince of peace
I Hear him saying, “Follow Me”
I look in your eyes and I tell you these things
But somehow I know that it’s hard to believe

Could you believe if I carried my own cross
If I saw that the children were fed
If for a moment I held my opinion
And quietly led Could you believe

I am meant to be a pure reflection of the truth
So above it all I pray that I will not obscure the view

Could you believe if I stood here transparent
And through me you could see his eyes
Could you believe if you saw right inside me
and there was no disguise
Could you believe if I was really like him
If I lived all the words that I said
If it was clear that I held in my heart
What I know in my head
Could you believe, could you believe
Looking at me, could you believe
Could you believe?

Leave a Reply

