Undo what I’ve become

Standard

“To label me a hypocrite would only scratch the surface of who I’ve been known to be.” ~ Undo by Rush of Fools

Do you ever get to the end of your day and really not like who you see in the mirror? The last couple days I have been mean spirited, rude, unkind, grumpy, grouchy, picky, impatient …all with the people I love the most. What is wrong with me?! Life can be so overwhelming. I do not have the most difficult of circumstances…yes life is hard, but I am not the only one and yet sometimes I find myself living in this vacuum of complete and total self focus. My friend Krystal was here for an hour today and I am not even sure if I asked her any questions! (Please forgive me, Krystal!) All I did do was vent, rant and generally complain. And now my spirit needs a good cleansing!

This is the passage my eyes fell upon today, when asking God to speak to me:

Come all you who are thirsty, come to the waters, and you have have no money come buy and eat! Come buy wine (Note to self: NOT whine) and milk without money and without cost. Listen, Listen to me and eat what is good and your soul will delight in the richest of fare. Issiah 55:1-2

God, I so need your forgiveness and grace. Please fill my cup when it is empty. Undo the things I can’t undo myself.

Undo by Rush of Fools

I’ve been here before, now here I am again
Standing at the door, praying You’ll let me back in
To label me a prodigal would be
Only scratching the surface of who I’ve been known to be

[Chorus]
Turn me around pick me up
Undo what I’ve become
Bring me back to the place
Of forgiveness and grace
I need You, need Your help
I can’t do this myself
You�re the only one who can undo
What I’ve become

I focused on the score, but I could never win
Trying to ignore, a life of hiding my sin
To label me a hypocrite would be
Only scratching the surface of who I’ve been known to be

[Chorus]
Turn me around pick me up
Undo what I’ve become
Bring me back to the place
Of forgiveness and grace
I need You, need Your help
I can’t do this myself
You’re the only one who can undo
What I’ve become

Make every step lead me back to
The sovereign way that You

[Chorus]
Turn me around pick me up
Undo what I’ve become
Bring me back to the place
Of forgiveness and grace
I need You, need Your help
I can’t do this myself
You’re the only one who can undo
What I’ve become

One response »

  1. God is so good. As I’ve been surfing blogs today, I keep finding that I’m not the only one out there that is unhappy with what they see in themselves. However, you’re the second one I have found that has been grabbed by the same song God was seemingly haunting me with. Thank the Lord for Undo by Rush of Fools. I guess it helps to know that this is the same story retold in so many people’s lives, and that I haven’t surprised him when I lash out in unGodly ways…and that He is still waiting with grace. It reminds me of a song by John Mark McMillan…”I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way He loves us…oh, how He loves us…” Like you said, we just have to realize that life is not about us. Thank you for your post!

Leave a Reply

