Welcome to Delaware (Albania?)

Standard

This has been such an up and down season for me and for us as a family. When I look back over the last year, I am overwhelmed by the changes we have seen in our life. Changing jobs, selling our house and a good part of our possessions (my parents may disagree with this part since their basement serves as the “Wheelis Storage Facility”), moving across the world, changing schools for the boys, learning a new language, losing a buisness, traveling 2/3 of the globe again to adopt a precious daughter. The list could go on…. It has really been a spiritual winter for me. I have really been looking at the losses a lot. I heard this song again today and listened to it again two or three times, letting the words really soak into my heart. He really has been here to say, “All you really have here now is ME.” What an amazing discovery! This journey may not be for all we think it is! Sharing the love of Christ, while important to our Lord, is really secondary to my personal love relationship with Him. He wants me to rely only on Him, for Him to be the most important thing in my day. What an awe inspiring thought to think that this all may have been just for me to KNOW HIM MORE.

Well it’s bitter cold December,
and the leaves have fallen true
And I do believe I’m still in love with You
Yeah, my scenery keeps changing
and sometimes it’s hard to view
But You’ve let me see so much since I’ve known You
But I headed to where it seemed like nowhere
You told me You’d come
You told me You’d meet me here

You were here to say,
“Welcome to Delaware,
I know you’ve traveled far,
And it’s a lot colder here than what you’re used to,
And I know, that in the winter time,
things aren’t what they used to be
So all you really have here now, is Me…

So I’ve settled here, and that is that
For You to show me who I am
You had to take me to a place I’d never been
And all the things I dreaded most
About the things unseen…
Have now become the sweetest part of me!
And though I headed to where it seemed like no where
I knew You would come,
I knew You would meet me here…

You were here to say,
“Welcome to Delaware,
I know you’ve traveled far,
And it’s a lot colder here than what you’re used to,
And I know, that in the winter time,
things aren’t what they used to be
So all you really have here now, is Me…”

-Watermark

Leave a Reply

