The best thing my mom ever bought me

Standard


My mom bought me this cookbook as a wedding shower gift. I can count on my two hands the number of times I have opened it in the ten years I have been married. Until I came to Albania. This is my new best friend. I open it at least once a day! So today I cooked Taco Soup (a Loyce Gandy original). The best part about this recipe in the US is that everything comes in a can. You just open them up, dump them in a pot a VIOLA! Dinner is served! Not so much. The only canned beans I have seen were baked beans, and they were $3 a can! So I bought a bag of plain white beans (I really have no idea what kind they are) and soaked them. I do know you are supposed to do this. Mind you, I have only used dried beans in the US maybe 3 times, but the instructions were in English. Here the instructions were in Greek (really)! So Fannie is a great help. She tells you how much water to add, how long to cook them, how much they will increase in size. I bought a can of tomatoes that I was not so sure were going to be diced tomatoes. This was really hard to ask for at the duchand (local store). I was not sure if I was getting tomato sauce or diced tomatoes. It turned out to be whole tomatoes so that was workable. Also, there is no such things as green chilies so I improvised with green peppers and onions, sauted them and added them to the mix! So… Taco Soup… no longer a 30 minute meal, but it was good!

6 responses »

  1. Robert/Jenny

    Sorry you had to endure such a late night for such an outcome on Saturday’s OU/Texas game. I just need to point out now that Texas has won 5 out of the last 10 and so has OU; We won 97,98 and 99 and the last 2. And of course there was that little streak by OU from 00 – 05. So, see everything is in balance and the world is still spinning on its axis!! It all ebbs and flows and so if my beloved Horns can win the next 3 then maybe OU will someday win 5 again. You know, it could happen!! Don’t give up like the rest of the Sooner Nation has here in Ok.

    Love you guys!!!!!

    Special “K”

  2. Hey Jen,
    thanks for the news! great to hear your stories and how ya’ll are adjusting. šŸ™‚ send my love to the boys and a big happy birthday to them!
    love ya

  3. Thanks, Jen, for sending your blog address. It’s fun reading it and learning your challenges and adaptations to living in Albania.

    Ottie Baumgarder

  4. Hey Jen,
    thanks for the news! great to hear your stories and how ya’ll are adjusting. šŸ™‚ send my love to the boys and a big happy birthday to them!
    love ya

  5. Robert/Jenny

    Sorry you had to endure such a late night for such an outcome on Saturday’s OU/Texas game. I just need to point out now that Texas has won 5 out of the last 10 and so has OU; We won 97,98 and 99 and the last 2. And of course there was that little streak by OU from 00 – 05. So, see everything is in balance and the world is still spinning on its axis!! It all ebbs and flows and so if my beloved Horns can win the next 3 then maybe OU will someday win 5 again. You know, it could happen!! Don’t give up like the rest of the Sooner Nation has here in Ok.

    Love you guys!!!!!

    Special “K”

  6. Thanks, Jen, for sending your blog address. It’s fun reading it and learning your challenges and adaptations to living in Albania.

    Ottie Baumgarder

Leave a Reply

